Carrot, Apple & Pecan Muffins from Clean Eating Alice

I’m now just ten weeks away from Boston Marathon – 10 weeks! Eeeek! Training is really picking up and I’m running 80km+ a week now! So to keep me fuelled I’ve baked two healthy snacks to keep me going this week!

First up is, Instagram sensation, Clean Eating Alice’s Carrot, Apple and Pecan muffins from her book Clean Eating Alice Eat Well Every Day: Nutritious, healthy recipes for life on the go. Nom!

Ingredients

muffins-1

  • 200g spelt flour – surprisingly easy to find in my local Morrisons (£2.95 for 1kg)
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • generous grating of nutmeg
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 30g unsalted butter
  • 150g honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 275g of unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 free-range egg
  • 75g carrot, grated
  • 12 pecan nuts

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C/400°F/Gas Mark 6. Line a muffin tray with 12 paper muffin cases. In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, bicarbonate of soda, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt.muffins-2
  2. Place the butter in a small bowl and heat in the microwave until melted. Make a well in the centre of the flour mixture. Pour in the melted butter, honey, vanilla extract and apple sauce.muffins-3
  3. Crack in the egg and whisk briefly until combined but don’t whisk for too long. Add the grated carrot and whisk again until the mixture is completely combined.muffins-5
  4. Divide the mixture between the muffin cases and place a pecan on the top of each muffin.
  5. Bake in the hot oven for around 18–20 minutes or until cooked through, then transfer to a wire rack to cool.

    …nom nom nom!

Training

Ten weeks today I’ll be running Boston Marathon, eeek! So time to up the mileage even more! Here’s what my training looks like this week:

  • Monday – track night – 400s & 800s
  • Tuesday – strength training & 1 mile swim
  • Wednesday – intervals (approx 14km)
  • Thursday – run commute (12k easy)
  • Friday – run commute (12k easy)
  • Saturday – XC Surrey League – last race of the season! (6km)
  • Sunday – long run (30km @ 5’min km pace

Review

Price: 9/10 – a lot of the ingredients I already had in the cupboard so think I only spent around £4 – a bargain for 12 muffins!

Taste: 8/10 – I LOVE cinnamon so these are a winner for me!

Fuel: 6/10 – they initially taste quite light and fluffy so not as instantly filling as last weeks energy balls

Ease to buy ingredients: 9/10 – this has been one of the easiest recipes to make in terms of ingredients! The only item you might struggle with is the spelt flour, but I found it easily in my local Morrisons.

Clean Eating Alice Eat Well Every Day: Nutritious, healthy recipes for life on the go” is available to buy from Amazon from just £7.50. I would definitely recommend in buying a copy – her recipes are fab and the ingredients are easy to find in your local shop which is a massive win for me!

I’ll post the second snack recipe I’m feasting on this week shortly.

Until then,

Lorna x

Leave a Reply

